15 August Chief Guest of Independence Day 2021

Chief Guest of Independence Day

Chief Guest of Independence Day

The Prime Minister of India unfurls the national flag at the Red Fort every 15th August, marking the independence of the Nation. No Chief Guest or Guests visits the country on the occasion of Independence Day.15 august chief guest

However, guests are invited to attend the Republic Day parade ceremony every year. In 2017, the Crown Prince of UAE, Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan attended the ceremony.

15 august chief guest

Leaders of 10 Association of South-East Asian Nations (ASEAN) countries have confirmed their participation in the 2018 Republic Day celebrations, as stated by Preeti Saran, Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) Secretary (East).

Also Read : 15 august chief guest all information

Chief Guests of Republic Day 2021

This year the chief guest is Cyril Ramaphosa, the President of South Africa. Earlier there were hints that the US President Donald Trump would grace the ceremony. But his administration declined the invitation stating that Trump had a crowded agenda and therefore, wouldn’t be able to make it on the Republic Day of India.15 august chief guest

List of Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950 – 2020) 15 august chief guest

Year           Guest name                                          Country
1950        President Sukarno                               Indonesia
1951        King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah           Nepal
1952          No invitation                                    No invitation
1953         No invitation                                     No invitation
1954      King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck                 Bhutan
1955     G. G. M.Ghulam Muhammad                  Pakistan
1956       R. A. Butler                                    United Kingdom
Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka                    Japan
1957 Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov    Soviet Union
1958           Marshall Ye Jianying                    China
1959  Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip      United Kingdom
1960 Chairman Kliment Voroshilov              Soviet Union
1961 Queen Elizabeth II                         United Kingdom
1962 Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann           Denmark
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk                        Cambodia
1964 Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten United Kingdom
1965 Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid Pakistan
1966 No invitation                                             No invitation
1967 King Mohammed Zahir Shah Afghanistan
1968 Chairman Alexei Kosygin Soviet Union
President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
1969 Prime Minister Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1970 King of the Belgians Baudouin Belgium
1971 President Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire

1974 President Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Bandaranaike Sri Lanka
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek Poland
1978 President Patrick Hillery Ireland
1979 Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser Australia
1980 President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
1981 President Jose Lopez Portillo Mexico
1982 King Juan Carlos I Spain
1983 President Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
1985 President Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
1987 President Alan Garcia Peru
1988 President J. R. Jayewardene Sri Lanka
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Vietnam
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1992 President Mário Soares Portugal
1993 Prime Minister John Major United Kingdom
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1995 President Nelson Mandela South Africa
1996 President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1998 President Jacques Chirac France
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev Nepal
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem Mauritius
2003 President Mohammed Khatami Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak South Korea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Indonesia
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
2013 King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck Bhutan
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe Japan
2015 President Barack Obama United States
2016 President François Hollande France
2017 Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan United Arab Emirates
2018 Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah Brunei
2018 Prime Minister Hun Sen Cambodia
2018 President Joko Widodo Indonesia
2018 Prime Minister Thongloun Sisoulith Laos
2018 Prime Minister Najib Razak Malaysia
2018 President Htin Kyaw Myanmar
2018 President Rodrigo Roa Duterte Philippines
2018 President Halimah Yacob Singapore
2018 Prime Minister Prayuth Chan-ocha Thailand
2018 Prime Minister Nguyễn Xuân Phúc Vietnam
2019 Cyril Ramaphosa South Africa